President’s Update 9-22-14

I hope you’re all well as you receive this message. It has been a crazy week and there continue to be issues all over the district. Please know that I am doing everything I can to help as many as possible. My mission is to fight for every single one of you and make sure that all of your rights are being respected.

I ask that when you send me your issues/complaints/concerns, that you please give me as detailed an account as possible. Sometimes the context is everything. If you forward an email that you think is important and that I should be looking at, please provide some background information to the situation.
Due to some pressing concerns, I’ve added another school this week. I will be meeting withKelly School teachers on Tuesday, Sep. 23, and with Lawrence School teachers on Thursday, Sep. 25. Next week, I will be meeting with McMahon School teachers. If you feel your school needs to meet with me sooner rather than later, contact me and I will do my best to accommodate.
Depending on whether most schools have a staff meeting on Monday, Sep. 29, we will be having an information session on the evaluation system and the changes that may take effect, depending on how the ratification vote turns out. In the event that Monday does not work for most teachers, we will hold the information session on Tuesday, Sep. 30. This is a most serious matter and requires everyone’s attention. This will affect every single educator in our district. Please attend the informational session and spread the word to other teachers who may not be receiving this email. Shortly after the information session (more information coming soon on dates) we will hold a ratification vote for the changes in the evaluation system.
On a lighter note, I’ve attached a flier(Pasi_Sahlberg flier) for the Oct. 2 forum at Westfield State University and I hope to see many of you there. It would be great for Holyoke teachers to lead the way in advocating for students and their learning conditions.
Remember that we are all in this together.
In Solidarity,
Gus Morales

HTA President
Attention: Building Reps
Please distribute the contact information sheets to the teachers in your building. Any issues, please contact me.
Leave a Reply

