President’s Message 8-21-14

Members of the HTA,

As your new President, I wish my first message to address some issues that have been at the forefront of everyone’s minds lately. First and foremost, let me say that it is my distinct pleasure to serve as your president. Each and every one of the Executive Board members and myself made a promise to you that we would do our best to serve you and to make OUR union strong again.

We have many issues to tackle and it is a long road ahead of us, but I promise to tackle these issues to the best of my ability with your best interests at heart. I know there are a lot of members with issues surrounding their union in the last few years. I know there are a lot of you who remain disheartened about being a teacher in Holyoke. I know there are a lot of you who face friends and family that have sympathetic looks on their face when you say that you’re a teacher. I promise to work toward better days and to make all efforts that we might bring reverence to our profession. We all want the same thing. We want to do what’s best for the students of Holyoke. We want to do what’s best for the teachers of Holyoke. We want to work together with administration to make Holyoke schools the pride of Holyoke as they once were.

I endeavor to do everything in my power so that TOGETHER WE CAN make being a teacher a great source of pride in our great city. I promise that I, along with Executive Board members, will work tirelessly to make sure that teachers’ assignments are all equitable and that the word equity is a forethought in the decision-making process. I will WORK WITH YOU so that TOGETHER we can create better working conditions and see that our lives are not consumed by grievances and legal battles. TOGETHER WE WILL seek a new direction where administration and teachers work hard together for our students in an open and public discourse where everyone can weigh in on what matters most. It is my strong belief that we, the teachers that spend day in and day out with the students of Holyoke, be directly involved in shaping any policy that affects ALL of us.

 

I desire a future for Holyoke in which students receive a well-rounded education rivaling any other and for teachers to be able to walk in the community with their heads held high. I am confident that YOU want the same. I am YOUR President. YOUR votes put me here. This is YOUR Presidency. I thank all of you for YOUR support and ask that WE STAND TOGETHER as we travel this road.

 

In Solidarity,

 

Gus Morales

HTA President

Leave a Reply

